Goa records 79% voting, UP stops at 63%

People in three states cast their votes on Monday for election of candidates to their respective legislative assemblies.


People in three states cast their votes on Monday for election of candidates to their respective legislative assemblies. Uttar Pradesh had its second phase of voting, while Goa and Uttarakhand had their first and final phases of voting. The total number of seats up for grabs in Monday’s polls were 55 for UP, 40 for Goa and 70 for Uttarakhand, a total of 165.

Goa recorded a nearly 79% voting turnout (78.94%), yet failed to reach its own record of 82.56%, set during the 2017 elections. Normally, such high turnouts indicate an anti-incumbency sentiment among the voters, but when the general turnout remains high, the situation is difficult to tell.

The figures are till 6 pm (end of day). North Goa recorded voter turnout of 79.84 per cent and South Goa recorded 78.15 per cent.

As per the ECI, Goa had 1,722 polling stations in the elections. A total of 11,56,762 voters were eligible to cast their ballots.

In the 2017 Goa assembly elections Congress became the single largest party with 17 (28.4%) seats, while BJP had won 13 (32.5%). GFP won 3 (3.5%) seats, the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party won 3 (11.3%) seats.

However, equations changed after the polls and BJP managed to lure many MLAs to form the government.

Uttar Pradesh
Till 6pm, UP had seen a voter turnout of 62.9%, which was lower than 65.53% recorded in 2017. The following is the district-wise turnout:

Amroha – 66.19%, Bareilly – 57.88%, Bijnor – 61.48%, Budaun – 55.91%, Moradabad – 64.88%, Rampur – 60.30%, Saharanpur – 55.25%, Sambhal – 56.93%, Shahjahanpur – 55.25%.

In the second phase, polling took place for 55 assembly seats in nine districts. Of these 55, seven were reserved seats.

As many as 2,01,42,441 voters were eligible to exercise their franchise in the second phase. Of them, 1,07,61,476 were male voters and 93,79,704 female and 1,261 third gender voters.

Earlier in 2017, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had won 38 of the 55 constituencies, Samajwadi Party had bagged 13 and the Congress and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) had got two seats each.

Uttarakhand recorded a voter turnout of 62.5% till 6 pm. In 2017, the Uttarakhand election had seen 64.72% turnout.

 The state, which has an electorate of 81 lakh, 632 candidates, including 152 independents, are fighting from 70 seats.

In the 2017 Uttarakhand  assembly elections BJP became the single largest party with 57 (45.4%) seats, while Congress had won 11(33.5%).