UP 6th Phase Polls:46.70% turnout recorded till 3pm


The following is the district-wise turnout.
Balrampur – 42.67% , Siddharthnagar-45.33,  Maharajganj- 47.54%, Kushinagar-48.49%,  Basti -46.49%, Sant Kabir Naga-44.67%,  Ambedkar Nagar-52.40%, Gorakhpur-46.44%,  Deoria -45.35% and Ballia- 46.48%.

The sixth phase of Uttar Pradesh polls will be held in 57 Assembly seats spread across 10 districts. With 676 candidates in the fray, all eyes are however fixed on the Gorakhpur Assembly seat as head of the Gorakhnath temple and incumbent Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath is contesting his first Assembly elections from Gorakhpur. CM Adityanath is contesting against Chandra Shekhar Azad, head of Bhim Army, and Azad Samaj Party. Chandra Shekhar is focussing on Dalit atrocities in the BJP regime and is using his campaign to consolidate Dalits.

A total of 2,14,62,816 voters including 1,14,63,113 males, 99,98,383 females and 1,320 third genders are expected to exercise their right to franchise to seal the fate of 676 candidates. 

The BJP will hope the Bahujan Samaj Party remains a strong contestant. Only a strong BSP can ensure a triangular fight in an election that has so far been seen as a bipolar one between the BJP and the Samajwadi Party. A triangular fight can mean a split of the anti-BJP votes.

The fate of several state ministers such as Surya Pratap Shahi, Satish Chandra Dwivedi, Jai Pratap Singh, Shree Ram Chauhan and Jai Prakash Nishad would also be decided in the sixth phase of the Uttar Pradesh assembly elections 2022.

In 2017, out of these 57 seats, BJP won 46, BSP 5, SP 2, Congress one seat.