4th phase polling: UP records nearly 50% voter turnout till 3pm, highest in Pilibhit

In the fourth phase of elections in Uttar Pradesh, a total of 49.89% voter turnout was recorded till 3pm.


The fourth phase (of the total seven) includes 59 assembly constituencies (as per the Election Commission of India), spread across nine districts.

The Election Commission said the 49.89 per cent voter turnout figure was an approximate trend as data from some polling stations takes time. Banda registered 50.08 per cent, Fatehpur 52.60 per cent, Hardoi 46.29 per cent, Kheri 52.92 per cent, Lucknow 47.62 per cent, Pilibhit 54.83 per cent, Raebareli 50.84 per cent, Sitapur 50.33 per cent, while Unnao registered 47.39 per cent by 3pm.

A total of 624 candidates and 2.13 crore voters are in the fray for the 59 assembly seats. In the fourth phase, polling is being held in Rohilkhand, Terai region, Awadh and Bundelkhand regions. This phase includes 16 reserved constituencies.

As many as 800 companies of paramilitary forces and over 60,000 policemen have been positioned for security across 59 assembly seats of Uttar Pradesh. Voting is being held at 13,813 polling stations and 24,580 polling booths in 208 police station areas.

In the 2017 elections, the BJP had won 51(41.15% voting share) of 59 seats. BJP won 90% of the seats in Rohilkhand and Awadh. One seat(0.65% voting share) was won by its ally Apna Dal (S).

The BJP-led coalition won 52 seats. Four(21.7% voting share) were won by SP, while two seats(7.7% voting share) were won by the Congress and two(22.2% voting share) by the BSP.